New Jersey Commission on Professionalism in the Law

NJ Commission on Professionalism

Note: The Commission does not regulate, investigate or discipline lawyers. For advice on filing a complaint against a lawyer please contact the Office of Attorney Ethics, PO Box 963, Trenton, NJ. You may call them at (609) 530-4010.


The New Jersey Commission on Professionalism in the Law is a unique cooperative venture of the NJSBA, the state and federal judiciary, and New Jersey's three law schools. The Commission was formed in response to increasing displeasure within the bar about the future direction of the profession, and public criticism of lawyers and the legal system. We hope to contribute to a strengthening of the traditional values, and sense of responsibility and public purpose, that have made the practice of law a distinguished profession. Moreover, we hope our work helps to increase public respect for judges and the justice system.

Towards this end the Commission develops programs and initiatives for lawyers, judges, and law students. We sponsor and participate in educational seminars, take positions on professional responsibility issues, and serve as an information resource for bar associations. The Commission operates from the New Jersey Law Center in New Brunswick.

The Commission's Chair is Karol Corbin Walker, Esq. Members include a member of the New Jersey Supreme Court, a federal district court judge, representatives of the state trial and appellate courts, the Deans of New Jersey's law schools, distinguished members of the bar, an academic from Rutgers College, and a public representative. 


Justice Barry T. Albin (2022)
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex
Supreme Court Clerk's Office
P.O. Box 970
Trenton, NJ 08625-0970



Hon. John W. Bissell [ret.]
Andrew Cevasco, Esq.
Sabrina G. Comizzoli, Esq.
Hon. Brenda Coppola Cuba
Hon. Jeanne T. Covert
Hon. Georgia M. Curio [ret.]
Hon. Wendel E. Daniels
David Edleberg, Esq.
Hon. Douglas Fasciale
Hon. Linda R. Feinberg [ret.]
Professor Paula Franzese
Ryan J. Gaffney, Esq.
Benjamin D. Heller, Esq.
Hon. Michael Kaplan
Hon. Edward Kiel
Sarah K. Regina
Elizabeth J. Sher
Professor Rayman L. Solomon
Louis Thompson
James J. Uliano, Esq.
Karol Corbin Walker, Esq.
Hon. Freda L. Wolfson
James Youngelson, Esq.