New Jersey State Bar Association Diversity Committee seeks nominations for Narol Award

Enter Title

December 16, 2021
For Immediate Release
Contact: Paula Saha
NEW BRUNSWICK - Commemorating Mel Narol’s commitment to the work of and enthusiastic support of the Task Force on Diversity, the NJSBA Diversity Committee’s Mel Narol Award is presented to those members of the association, as well as organizations, groups or entities, that have spearheaded inclusion and made strides for women and diverse attorneys.
Narol was a charter member of the NJSBA Task Force on Diversity and worked tirelessly on the project to make the diversity effort within the NJSBA a permanent order of business. Through his leadership, what began as a small task force has grown into a permanent standing committee. The members of the task force turned to Narol for his insight into the NJSBA as an organization, and sought his advice on a variety of philosophical and logistical issues. His enthusiasm and impetus led to the first Specialty Bar Summit. It was what he characterized as “a necessary show of support” for diversity initiatives. Narol felt strongly that the NJSBA should be at the forefront of inclusion, strategically, for the sake of the development of membership, and because it was the right and most natural thing to do for today and the future. Naming this award in his honor celebrates Narol’s work on the Task Force on Diversity, his collegiality and his unwavering kindness.
The recommended award recipient is chosen at a meeting of the Diversity Committee, and must be approved by the NJSBA Board of Trustees. The chairs of the Diversity Committee have the authority to decide the voting process (open/closed ballot), and may, at their discretion, recommend the award be given to more than one recipient. 
To submit a nomination for the 2021 award, provide a complete bio or profile of the nominee or entity, along with an explanation supporting the nomination, to Paula Saha, Senior Managing Director of Diversity, Inclusion & Member Engagement at [email protected] The deadline for nominations is Jan. 31.
Please note, as of 2017, sitting state judges are not eligible for this award per the Administrative Office of the Courts.
The past recipients are:  
1999 – Cynthia M. Jacob and Karol Corbin Walker
2000 – Hon. Marie Garibaldi
2001 – Raymond M. Brown 
2002 – Stanley Van Ness
2003 – Hon. James Coleman and, posthumously, Mel Narol
2004 – Rutgers Law School Minority Students Program
2005 – Hon. Joseph Rodriguez
2006 – Zulima V. Farber
2007 – Ronald K. Chen
2008 – Raymond Brown
2009 – Hon. Anne E. Thompson
2010 – Association of Black Women Lawyers of New Jersey, Inc.
2011 – Paulette Brown and Hon. Shirley Tolentino
2012 – Karol Corbin Walker
2013 – Hon. Esther Salas
2014 – Hon. Alberto Rivas
2015 – Saul A. Wolfe
2016 – Julien X. Neals and Evan Wolfson
2017 - Miles S. Winder III
2018 - Thomas H. Prol
2019 - Assemblywoman Annette Quijano
2020 - Lora Fong