NJSBA Nominations 2020

Enter Title

January 15, 2020

Contact: Kate Coscarelli

NEW BRUNSWICK - Dozens of candidates have filed for leadership positions in the New Jersey State Bar Association. 
The Nominating Committee will interview candidates on Jan. 27 and 28. Members of the association may watch the interviews via simulcast on those days at the New Jersey Law Center in New Brunswick. All deliberations are confidential. To read more about the process, review the association’s bylaws here, and the association’s policies and procedures here. A schedule of interviews will be posted when available.
Following the interviews and deliberations, the Nominating Committee will issue a report to the association's Board of Trustees on a slate of candidates. The board will vote on the committee’s recommendations. If someone decides to contest a candidate, a vote of the members determines the winner. 
Successful candidates will take their posts in May. The questionnaires completed by each candidate are available for at njsba.com. (login is required)
The candidates seeking leadership positions are:
*denotes incumbents
Executive Committee (one-year term)
Domenick Carmagnola – President-Elect 
Jeralyn L. Lawrence – First Vice President 
Timothy F. McGoughran – Second Vice President 
William H. Mergner Jr. – Treasurer 
Secretary (one-year term)
Christine A. Amalfe
Craig J. Hubert 
Diana C. Manning 
County Trustee (one seat for each county, each for a two-year term)
*David Edelberg (Bergen) 
*Janice L. Heinold (Burlington) 
*Justin R. White (Cumberland) 
Albert E. Fershing (Essex) 
G. Glennon Troublefield (Essex) 
*William C. Popjoy III (Gloucester) 
Brian J. Neary (Hudson) 
Michael R. Paglione (Mercer) 
*Diana C. Manning (Morris) 
*Jeffrey M. Fiorello (Passaic) 
*Richard F. Klineburger III (Salem) 
*Thomas P. Fischer (Warren) 
At-Large Trustee (three seats, each for a two-year term. One seat is designated for an Hispanic member, one is for an Asian-American member, and one is for a general At-Large member)
Jonathan I. Amira  
Eli L. Eytan  
Christopher Jackson  
Hon. Harriet F. Klein (ret.) 
*Roger Lai 
Joseph L. Linares  
Mary Ann C. O’Brien 
Christine A. Soto 
*Shirley B. Whitenack 
Section/Committee Trustee (three seats, each for a two-year term)
Bhavini A. Doshi (Environmental Law) 
Peter J. Gallagher (Amicus) 
Christopher J. Keating (Criminal Law) 
James A. Lewis V (Minorities in the Profession) 
*Scott R. Malyk (Immigration Law) 
Thomas J. Manzo (Civil Trial Bar) 
Mary Ann C. O’Brien (Medical Malpractice) 
Matthew Schiller (Real Property Trust and Estate Law)
Seth R. Tipton (Cannabis Law) 
Young Lawyers Division Trustee (one seat, for a two-year term)
Emily S. Kelchen 
Nominating Committee (one seat, for a two-year term)
Katrina M. Homel 
Dina Mastellone 
Mary Ann C. O’Brien 
ABA Delegate (Two seats, each for a full, two-year term)
*Thomas H. Prol 
*Jonathan W. Wolfe