YLD seeks nominations for annual awards: Deadline is March 16

Enter Title

The New Jersey State Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Division is seeking nominations for its annual awards. 

Each year the division hands out four awards at the association’s Annual Meeting and Convention in Atlantic City. The awards are: Service to the Community, Service to the Bar, Professional Achievement, and Young Lawyer of the Year.
Service to the Community
Young lawyers who have devoted substantial time and energy to community-oriented activities such as pro bono work, government service, charity involvement, or other public service over the past year are candidates for the award. Young lawyers who are in paid public service positions are not eligible for this award unless they are doing something in addition to their job.
Service to the Bar
Nominees for the service to the bar category should be young lawyers who have dedicated considerable volunteer time to bar activities at the county, state, and/or national level, including specialty and minority bars, over the past year.
Professional Achievement
The Professional Achievement Award acknowledges a young lawyer who has had significant professional accomplishments during the past year. This can include publications, demonstrated excellence in a particular area of law, a significant verdict or law-changing appellate or Supreme Court decision, or other such professional achievement.
Young Lawyer of the Year
The Young Lawyer of the Year award is presented to a young lawyer whose combined personal and professional achievements over the past year merit special recognition, and who has additionally made significant community and public service contributions, has actively participated in the organized bar and has stood out in the areas of professional knowledge, skill, integrity and courtesy.
Nominees must be members of the NJSBA and been engaged in the practice of law for 10 years or less or be under the age of 36, as of May 31. If there are no viable candidates for any given award, such an award may not be bestowed.
The deadline for submitting nominations is Friday, March 16. Send nominations and any additional information to Jonas Seigel at [email protected]