NJSBA honors its volunteers at holiday gathering

Enter Title

For Immediate Release

Kate Coscarelli
Sr. Director, Communications

New Brunswick – The New Jersey State Bar Association will honor some of its many volunteers and recognize a retired jurist at a celebration on Friday, Dec. 12 at the New Jersey Law Center.


Retired Judge Lawrence M. Lawson will be recognized with the Arthur T. Vanderbilt Award for Excellence in Judicial Administration. Lawson, who retired earlier this year, was a trailblazer in the judicial branch and public service.

Ten lawyers will receive awards for their efforts on amicus matters and advancing legislation.


Amicus awards will be presented to Former NJSBA President Susan A. Feeney, Emily B. Goldberg, Brian G. Paul, NJSBA First Vice President Thomas H. Prol, David B. Rubin, Brian M. Schwartz, Judah Skoff and Elizabeth M. Vinhal for their pro bono efforts on matters that affect the practice of law.

Distinguished Legislative Service Awards acknowledging members who advocate on behalf of the association will be presented to Family Law Section Chair Jeralyn L. Lawrence and Immediate Past Chair Brian M. Schwartz. NJSBA Legislative Committee Chair and Trustee Fruqan Mouzon will receive the award for his stewardship and leadership on the association’s legislative agenda.

In addition, the individuals and teams that won the Lawyer Feeding New Jersey fundraising competition will also be honored. The campaign raised enough money to provide food for 300,000 meals. Over 400 lawyers, firms and others donated.

Those being recognized are: Day Pitney, Linda W. Eynon and the Camden County Bar Association, Lauren Fraser and the Sussex County Bar Association, Edward Hoffman and the Burlington County Bar Association, Jeralyn L. Lawrence, Timothy F. and Allison McGoughran, Middlesex County Bar Association, Monmouth Bar Association, No One Should Be Hungry!, NJSBA’s Family Law Section, Seigel Capozzi Law Firm LLC, Skey & Bhattacharya LLC, Somerset County Bar Association, and Dana Van Leuven and the NJSBA’s Young Lawyers Division.